Tourist Attractions

  • More Info
    At one stage Willowmore at a thriving Jewish community and so the need for a Jewish Synagogue, built in 1980. The building is no longer in use, but can be viewed from the outside. The Jewish Graveyard is still beautifully...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    The Kanniedood (Aloe Variegatal) is probably the most well-known and outstanding aloes of the Karoo, with its white spots on both sides of its leaves, it resembles the spots of a partridge – hence its common name: partridge...
    • Geology, Flora & Fauna, Weather
  • More Info
    The Beervlei Dam was completed in 1957. It was built for the purpose of flood control on the Grootrivier, especially for the sake of the farming community in the Patensie area.
    • Sightseeing
    • Dams
  • More Info
    The Valley Of The Flags is part of the R329, colourfully adorned with flags that have at some stage been national flags of South Africa. The flags were painted by a nearby farmer pre-1994 and update after South Africa receives...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Die Rooi Bruggie
    • Willowmore
    The iconic “Rooi Bruggie” was erected as a Pedestrian Bridge over the Noodsloot River and was used when the river was flood. The road was a drift/ford at the time
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Kouga Dam
    • Surrounding Areas
    The dam is a double curvature arch dam 82 m high with a storage capacity of 128,7 million m3. Provision was made in the design to allow for a future raising of the water level by some 15,2 m. The construction of the wall marked...
    • Sightseeing
    • Dams
  • More Info
    View the making of beautiful hand made crafts done by the Rietbron community. They are also well known for their hearts made from wire. Products can be purchased on site. Rietbron Handcrafts is currently situated in one of the...
    • Shopping / Interests
    • Curios / Arts / Crafts
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Bakers Dam
    • Willowmore
    Bakers Dam was built in 1960 to supply steam locomotives stopping in Willowmore with water. With the advent of diesel locomotives, the municipality took over the dam to serve as the town’s primary source of water at the time....
    • Sightseeing
    • Dams
  • More Info
    Vero's Restaurant offers travellers local cuisine such as roosterkoek with a variety of fillings. The restaurant is one of the few found in Baviaanskloof. The beautiful and very popular Baviaans Craft Shop built from organic...
    • Shopping / Interests
    • Curios / Arts / Crafts
    • Restaurant
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Nuwekloofpas is a beautiful example of rock formations found in the Kloof, and is considered the official entrance into the Baviaanskloof from the west.
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Campbell Monument
    • Baviaanskloof
    The Campell Monument was erected by the farming community to commemorate the lives lost in the 1916 flood.
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    New products are continually being developed and can be seen at Annette Oelofse Mohair Shop. A new decor range is available as well as a range of fine crocheted mohair blankets in all sizes.The newest range of Hinterveld blankets...
    • Shopping / Interests
    • Shopping
    • Curios / Arts / Crafts
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Die Wonderboom
    • Willowmore
    "Die Wonderboom" is a remarkable sight where two trees, namely the Ghwarrie tree (Eudea undulate) and a Shepherd’s Tree (Boscia oleolides, also called a Karoo witgat) grow side by side. What makes this “wonder tree” unique...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Sewefontein Wild Fig Tree Forest is a forest of old wild fig trees with hiking trail and shady picnic spots.
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    The War Monument
    • Steytlerville
    The War Monument built in 1925, pay homage to Steytlerville who died in the First and Second World Wars. They were CR Buckley, J Erasmus, N Gaisford, J Kunneke, A Pettit, J Ring, J de Wit, PF Ferreira, H Hooper, JY Nash and P...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    The Old Blackstone Power Station, which supplied the town with power until 1984, is open to visitors. Willowmore first started generating its electricity in 1984, is open to visitors. Willowmore first started generating its...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    There is an angel factory in the Karoo. The surrounding semi-desert landscape is arid, stark and striking- endless dry vistas of mountains and scrubland… But in a little old church you will find angels… unique African angels,...
    • Shopping / Interests
    • Curios / Arts / Crafts
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    James Kobe Madlaila’s grave is the only grave outside the town cemetery. James Kobe Madlaila, constable and the Xhosa interpreter on staff of the Resident Magistrate of Steytlerville was shot by Schemers’ commando, at...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    The first church to be established in the Baviaanskloof was the Dutch Reformed Church. It was rebuilt at Gannaland-se-kloof on Zandvlakte in 1918 after the previous church washed away at Kleinpoort in the 1916 flood.
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Steytlerville is home to many unique Rock Formations formed millions of years ago when the Karoo was at the bottom of the Algoa Sea and the high water temperature allowed the rock to become oft and bendable. As the earth plates...
    • Geology, Flora & Fauna, Weather
  • More Info
    The NG KERK (9) (Dutch Reformed Church) was built in 1953 after a fire razed the original building in 1913. Currently it serves 95 members.
    • Sightseeing
    • 044 934 1009
  • More Info
    The Heroes Monument
    • Steytlerville
    The Heroes Monument honours those who died fighting for freedom during the apartheid years. Among those honoured are Mzwandile Veneress “Shakes” Miggels; Johannes “Pappie” Witbooi; “Thami” Khasibe.
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    The Seven Dwarfs
    • Baviaanskloof
    Look out for these interesting rock formations – The Seven Dwarfs along the road.
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Family Crest Project
    • Steytlerville
    In 2003, in the main street, Flags were erected depicting the Family Crests of Steytlerville families and encompassing crest from all communities. Those families without traditional crest were encourage to design their own to...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    The Cement Road
    • Willowmore
    Construction for the Cement Road between Willowmore and Steytlerville commenced in 1952 and was completed in 1954. At the time of building the road cement was more economical than bitumen, which had to be imported. The road is a...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Queen Victoria - Rock Formation
    • Patensie Baviaanskloof East,
    • Surrounding Areas
    At Andrieskraal (16 km from Patensie), the bust of Queen Victoria rises out of the cemented matrix of water-borne pebbles known as Enon conglomerate.
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    The Willow Limo
    • Willowmore
    Enjoy a relaxing donkey cart tour through the streets of Willowmore with The Willow Limo, to be found in the main street.
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Since 1999, an annual Inter-School Sports weekend is held to raise funds for the school which was founded in 1910. Primary and high school teams from as far as Paarl are invited to participate. Old Boys and Girls return to...
    • Entertainment
    • 044 934 1032
  • More Info
    The Historical Graveyard is not only part of Willowmore’s early history, but also houses the graves of residents who died due to two noble historic incidents – the Anglo – Boer war (1899 – 1902) and the Great Flu Epidemic...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    There are many lovely There are many lovely Historical Buildings in town, quite a few dating back to the 19th century, including the Old Dutch Reformed Rectory, built in 1864; the Old Jail, built in 1896; St Matthews Church,...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    The Library
    • Rietbron
    The current Library was one of the first buildings in the town. Rietbron's school was established in this building shortly after the establishment of the town. From 1919 until 1960 it was used as a hostel for the school. On 12...
    • Entertainment
    • 044 934 1008
  • More Info
    The Dutch Reformed Church is the record-holding biggest Edwardian-style church in Southern African, seating 1200 members. The church was inaugurated in 1907. It features an organ consisting of 1046 pipes,. The site for St...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Die Bron
    • Rietbron
    The farm, Kaalplaas, despite immense water scarcity, was declared an urban area in 1909. It was observed that a nearby reed-bush (known as “rietbos” in Afrikaans) produced a sustainable damp spot in the soil. Drawing on...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Vensterklip
    • Baviaanskloof
    During the Anglo-Boer war of 1899-1902, a skirmish between police and a group of aspiring Boer rebels took place in the area of Vensterklip.
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    The Lady De Waal Bridge was built in 1911/12 and inaugurated in October 1913 by first administrator of the Union, Sir Frederick de Waal who named it after his wife, Lady De Waal. During the 1916 floods the bridge was washed away....
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    A must-see in town is the beautiful restored old Boer graveyard with interesting graves dating back to the Anglo-Boer War. From here one can take a short hike to a small gunpowder chamber used during battle to store gunpowder and...
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    ACVV Hall
    • Rietbron
    The ACVV (Afrikaans Christelike Vroue Vereniging) hall was originally built in 1927 to be used as church hall however when a new church hall was built in 1953, it was decided to use the ACVV hall as a Museum.
    • Museums
    • 083 590 3847
  • More Info
    The Steytlerville Crafters are a group of dynamic local women, armed with tile nippers and cutters, pliers and glue are producing beautiful mosaic works ranging from crosses and hearts to vases and bowls and anything in between....
    • Shopping / Interests
    • Curios / Arts / Crafts
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Unique barb wire items and other wire crafts are being made by this young group of crafters
    • Shopping / Interests
    • Curios / Arts / Crafts
    • Sightseeing
  • More Info
    Steytlerville Museum
    • Steytlerville
    Inaugurated in 1967, the Museum is community-run and houses the history of settlement in the Steytlerville area. Displays include clothes, house implements and memorabilia from the turn of the century. The museum can be obtained...
    • Museums